St. James Anglican Church in Franktown, Ontario
Two day workshop on dry stone wall restoration for beginners and intermediate levels
St. James is recognized as one of the oldest Anglican churches in Easter
n Ontario in continuous use. The cornerstone of the church was laid in 1822 and completed in 1827.
St. James became part if the Clayton Parish, sharing its Rector with St. George’s in Clayton, and St. John’s in Innisville. However, this little stone church still stands as a memorial to the hardy pioneers who built it.
The historic church requires 75 feet of their 180 ft historic dry stone wall repaired. The wall is 2 ft. wide and 4 ft high with round stones on the top as copes.
- Location: 128 Church St, Beckwith, ON
- Time: 09:00 to 16:00
- Lunch and snacks are included
- Required Equipment:
- Safety glasses
- Safety boots (if you have them)
- Gloves (don’t bring expensive gloves they get shredded just as quickly as the cheap ones)
- Appropriate clothing – We work in all weather conditions
Registration and Waiver:
Please complete these and return
- Cheque or via paypal
- Make cheque payable to: Dry Stone Walling Association of Canada
- Send completed forms to email@example.com
- Or mail forms (and cheque) to:
- Bill Jeffers c/o Dry Stone Canada
- 24 Sword St.
- Toronto, On.
- M5A 3N2